The Opening Reception for the Rock Island Art Guild’s 43rd Fine Arts Exhibition was held on Thursday, March 8 at the Figge Art Museum. Art Guild President Robert Lelonek announced the awards that were selected by the exhibition juror Mia Laufer.

First Place: $1000
Meiqi Zhang Before it All

Second Place: $500
Jason Ackmon Upon Reflection

Third Place Founder’s Award in honor of Art Guild member Diane VonDresky: $300
Jack Nixon Study in Light and Form

Digital Art, Performance, Sound, and Video Award: $300
Rachel Merrill Untitled (Slobberknocker)

Sally MacMillan Watercolor Award: $750 (first place)
Julie Nelson Two Vases

Sally MacMillan Watercolor Award: $250 (second place)
Michael Hardwood Lee The Story Of

Zeivel Harris Sculpture Award: $500
Brant Weiland Memory Involontaire

Honorable Mention Award: $100
Molly Borth Fat Girl
Jessie Rebik Bedtime Ritual

The People’s Choice and Children’s Choice Awards ($100 each) will be announced at the end of the exhibition on June 16.

Figge Art Museum

Figge Art Museum Director Michelle Hargrave speaking to audience


Molly Borth

Honorable Mention winner Molly Borth (left)

Michael Hardwood Lee

Second Place Watercolor Award winner Michael Hardwood Lee (right)

Brant Weiland

Sculpture Award winner Brant Weiland (right)

Rachel Merrill

Digital Art, performance, Sound, and Video Award winner Rachel Merrill (left)

Jason Ackmon

Second Place Award winner Jason Ackmon (left)